Innsbruck and Turin to co-host Davis Cup Finals with Madrid

The International Tennis Federation says the cities of Innsbruck in Austria and Turin in Italy will co-host the Davis Cup Finals along with the Spanish capital of Madrid this year

Each city will host two of the six groups in the international team event. Madrid will stage two groups as well as two quarterfinal series, the semifinals and the final. Innsbruck and Turin will get one quarterfinal each.

The competition will take place on hard courts from Nov. 25-Dec. 5.

“The three-venue, 11-day format will improve the schedule for players, enhance the experience for fans and bring the competition to a wider audience,” David Cup Finals organizers said. “The three venues selected are of similar playing conditions with good transport links and a strong overall infrastructure.”

Organizers said it was important to find two European cities “that were well connected to Madrid, with similar playing conditions, to provide a smooth transition for players traveling from other venues.”

Each city will host the country’s national team at the group stage.


More AP tennis: and—Sports

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.